What Are the New Seven Wonders of the World?

The Seven Wonders of the World have long been seen as the pinnacle of human achievement and natural beauty, but there are always new sights to be seen and experienced. Every few years, there’s an election to find the New Seven Wonders of the World, and it’s one that attracts attention from all over the world—and all seven wonders are always new! Here’s a look at some of the most recently chosen Wonders, and what makes them so special.

Machu Picchu, Peru

Machu Picchu is a sacred Incan city in Peru built by Emperor Pachacuti. In 2014, it was named one of the New Seven Wonders of the World. It is best known for its beautiful mountainous setting with lush vegetation and occasional views of snow-covered peaks. It has a number of important structures that are still being used to this day including temples, palaces and houses. The most famous structure is the Inti Watana which was once used as an observatory to calculate solstices.

Petra, Jordan

Petra is a city that was carved into sandstone and rose up out of the desert. Its dazzling architecture and lush gardens seem to have sprung from nowhere, yet they represent one of the most sophisticated civilizations of its time. The Nabataeans also left behind an extensive water system, including one that collected rainwater as it cascaded down their mountain fortress. The complex network allowed them to grow fruit trees and vines in a barren landscape.

Chichén Itzá, Mexico

Chichén Itzá is one of Mexico’s most famous and most visited archaeological sites. Located in the Yucatan Peninsula, it contains some of the best preserved examples of Maya architecture, such as The Temple of Kukulcan or El Castillo. Built by the Mayans between 600 and 900 AD, Chichén Itzá is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Christ Redeemer, Brazil

The new list includes Christ the Redeemer, located in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. The final list also features Petra, a Unesco World Heritage site in Jordan. This ancient city was at one time the capital of a powerful empire and is now home to some of the most impressive ruins from antiquity. Another addition to this edition is Machu Picchu, a 15th century site located in Peru.

Taj Mahal, india

The Taj Mahal is an ivory-colored marble mausoleum located in Agra, India. It was commissioned by Mughal emperor Shah Jahan to serve as a tomb for his favorite wife, Mumtaz Mahal. Construction began in 1632 and was completed around 1653. The Taj Mahal has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1983.

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made from stone, brick, tamped earth, and wood. It was originally constructed in ancient China to protect the northern border against intrusions by various nomadic groups. The first mention in Chinese records was dated back to 495 BCE. Emperor Qin Shi Huang was said to have ordered his general Meng Tian to build this wall so that his empire could control its conquered territories beyond it.

Colosseum, Italy

The Colosseum is an elliptical amphitheater in Rome, Italy. It is one of the largest structures in all of the world, and for centuries it has been among history’s most significant monuments. Completed by Emperor Vespasian in 80 AD, it was built to provide entertainment for the Roman population and a grandiose location for staging gladiator battles. The Colosseum could seat 50,000 spectators and was also used to stage mock naval battles as well as other competitions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *